Bayou Blasters: 4 FPA Worlds Pairs Titles in a Row

From 1983 to 1986 Jim Benson and Deaton Mitchell were the FPA Worlds Open Pairs champions, setting the record at four consecutive wins in Open Pairs. It’s an achievement that has yet to be equaled. Based on the FPA Worlds winners list at, the closest anyone has come seems to be Dave Lewis and I with three wins and a second place over four years (1st-2nd-1st-1st). Tom Leitner has a crazy streak of three titles, three second places and a fourth place between 2003 and 2009 (2nd-2nd-1st-2nd-4th-1st-1st). Joey Hudoklin, Skippy Jammer, Dan Yarnell, Dave Schiller, Matt Gauthier, Jake Gauthier and Matteo Gaddoni have all won two titles within four years.

So many variables have to fall into place for this record beyond being a great player. No ill-timed injuries or illness. A consistently high level of competition play. No other teams having career performances in the finals. Judges appreciating your play. No random puffs of wind at unfortunate times. It makes the Blasters’ four year run even more amazing.

Videos three of their four wins are now available on YouTube. Enjoy the dominance.

Win #2: 1984

Win #3: 1985

Win #4: 1986

The fourpeat. Oh, and it’s dropless too.

I’ll update this post when the video from 1983 surfaces.